Project 6 Stationery

P6JessieSkinner copy blog P6JessieSkinner copy blog2 P6JessieSkinnerBlogVersion2 (1)

  1. Description: A logo, business card (front and back), and letterhead with watermark, all of which I created for my business: Jackson Photo & Design
  2. Process (Programs, Tools, Skills): I created the logo with Illustrator. I simply used the text tool to create the “J.” I knew I wanted the dimensions of the half circle of the “P” and “d” to match the half circle of the “J” for the sake of consistency, so I copied the half circle of the “J.” I then put one half circle onto the stem of the “J” to create the “P.” I used the shape tool to make the stem of the “d” and attached the other half circle to it. I then used InDesign to create the business card and letterhead. I knew I wanted a sleek, simple design to match that of the logo. I love the sleek look of having two parallel lines next to each other, so I put them on the letterhead and each side of the card. For consistency and repetition, I put a thicker black line at the top of the letterhead and the top of one side of the business card. I used an image that shows advanced graphic design skills on my business card and as my watermark to display my design skills to potential clients. Although the text in my logo is sans serif, I chose to use sans serif for the rest of the text in my letterhead and business card because a serif font would simply not look good. The style I went for is sleek and modern, and a serif font just wouldn’t work as well with that style as a sans serif would.
  3. Message: I’m trying to communicate that I’m a talented photographer and graphic designer/editor who is up-to-date in her work rather than outdated.
  4. Audience: A younger audience, between 18 and 30.
  5. Top Thing Learned: I learned the beautiful effect repetition can have. I enjoyed connecting the letterhead with each side of the business card through repetition and seeing it all really come together because of that.
  6. Color scheme and color names: Monochromatic; black and white
  7. Title Font Name & Category: N/A
  8. Copy Font Name & Category: Avenir Book
Leave a Reply

