Project 2 Event Ad

P2JessieSkinner

  1. Description: This is a color advertisement promoting a fundraising event using a scanned picture from a magazine.
  2. Process (Programs, Tools, Skills, FOCUS principles) Surprisingly, I used Microsoft Word to design this ad. I knew I wanted to implement the rule of thirds since I figured the dog would take up about a third of the page; I knew centering it would not be as visually appealing. I put the image in the left-most third of the page, and added to the effect by placing a contrasting color (brick) on the right-most third of the page. Since the dog only takes up the bottom half of the left-most third, I balanced it out by place the title in the top right corner. I chose the teal color because I thought it would contrast nicely against the dog’s black fur. I chose to use the complementary brick color because the pair give the ad a nice summery feel and summer is when the event is being held. I added the line down the center of the two colors because the ad needed that extra little accent to spice it up a little bit.
  3. Message: This ad 
  4. Audience: The intended audience is dog lovers – hence the large picture of an adorable dog!
  5. Color scheme and color names: I used a complementary color scheme with the following colors: teal and brick.
  6. Top Thing Learned: I really learned for myself the importance of alignment while doing this project.
  7. Title Font Name & Category: I used Century Gothic font from the sans serif category.
  8. Copy Font Name & Category: I used Cambria font from the oldstyle category.
  9. Scanned images used, sources, original sizes, location of scanner used: I scanned the image of the dog from Bloomberg magazine using a scanner in one of my school’s computer labs (Spori Lab). The photo took up a full magazine page.
Leave a Reply

